RSS

The Hub, Royal Mile, Edinburgh (2)

21 Jan

Royal Mile, Edinburgh
13 December 2014

This is The Hub at Royal Mile.

It is a very tall building and I shot this one with my 12-24mm lens on my Canon 5D; still managed to nick the cross at the top (I don’t think I even noticed the cross while I was there).

Two photos in this blog post because I can’t decide between Colour or Black and White.

From WikiPedia:
“The Hub, at the top of Edinburgh’s Royal Mile, is the home of the Edinburgh International Festival, and a central source of information on all the Edinburgh Festivals.

“Its gothic spire – the highest point in central Edinburgh – towers over the surrounding buildings below the castle. The building design was the result of a collaboration between Edinburgh architect J Gillespie Graham and the famous gothic revivalist Augustus Pugin.

“It was constructed between 1842 and 1845.”

The Hub in Colour:
_T7B3475-Fujiv-Velvia-100F-and-Clarity--01

The Hub in Black and White:
_T7B3475-Silver-Efex-Push-Process-Kodak-ISO-32-Panatomic-X-Tonality-Zeroise-And-Layers--01

 

Tags: , , , , ,

2 responses to “The Hub, Royal Mile, Edinburgh (2)

  1. Maia MacGillivray

    January 22, 2015 at 12:21 am

    I prefer the color shot; something about the orange light coming from the windows pleases my eye.

    Like

     
  2. Kayode Okeyode

    January 22, 2015 at 3:41 pm

    Thank you:-)
    Yes I like the warm light and reflections too but I “saw” this image in monochrome before I shot it.

    Like

     

Leave a Reply

 
