RSS

London Trafalgar Square and Snow

06 Feb

Trafalgar Square
04 February 2012

We had snow on Saturday Night (04 Feb 2012).

I went out with my 16-35mm lens to get street shots in the snow in Central London because I thought that lens was snow-proof (it has survived so many London rains). I was wrong but I hadn’t realised this till I got home and noticed the pictures were soft-focussed as if the lens had been smeared with Vaseline (most of the damage was on the left side of the frame). The earlier pictures seem OK but the later ones are ruined. I will try rescue the pictures I can and put them online but am still mourning the ruined ones.

I’m drying out the lens and taking it in for service. It’s my favourite lens; I’ve had it since February 2008 and had just serviced it in October 2011.

PS: The out-of-focus guy had just taken a bath in the Trafalgar Square fountains; he’s out of focus because I was slow to react and adjust my camera settings (it’s one of my earlier pictures of the night).

 
3 Comments

Posted by on February 6, 2012 in photoblog, Snow, Trafalgar Square

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

3 responses to “London Trafalgar Square and Snow

  1. Andrew Graeme Gould

    February 9, 2012 at 1:21 am

    These are such great shots. Hope you can get the lens fixed…

    Like

     
    • Kayode Okeyode

      February 10, 2012 at 10:14 pm

      Thank you ­čÖé I tested it for the first time last night and it seems to be OK but I am still going to get it serviced anyway.

      Like

       

Leave a Reply

 
