RSS

Day 34: Battersea Bridge at Twilight

04 Feb

Battersea Bridge at Twilight

This is Battersea Bridge in West London.

The bridge’s 40 foot width makes it London’s narrowest road vehicle bridge.

It was designed by Joseph Bazalgette and built between 1886 and 1890.

This wasn’t the shot I planned for Day 34 but a huge cloud rolled in from the west and I lost my planned picture.

I took this one before the clouds took over.

I am a fan of clouds but night clouds tend to trap the city lights and are rendered brown or purplish by the camera – you can see a hint of this just above the horizon – that’s why I try to avoid them in night shots.

This is a 16:9 crop; I am not really sure I like it and I might replace it later with the 3:2 version. All I did really was crop out part of the sky and the beach.

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

One response to “Day 34: Battersea Bridge at Twilight

  1. barbara

    February 4, 2008 at 9:01 pm

    I love the reflections and color. It might be interesting to see, if you decide to expand the sky, but I like it the way it is, too.

    Like

     

Leave a Reply

 
